ONOC Equity Commission launches ACE (Active Champions for Equity) Award

January 23, 2024
With the purpose of recognising individuals who have made noteworthy contributions to the advancement of women in sport, the inaugural "Active Champions for Equity" (ACE) Award has been announced by the Oceania National Olympic Committee (ONOC) Equity Commission (ECO). l Photo: ONOC Communications

The Oceania National Olympic Committee (ONOC) Equity Commission (ECO) is delighted to announce the inaugural "Active Champions for Equity" (ACE) Award, to recognize exceptional individuals who have demonstrated significant contributions to the promotion of women through sport in the Oceania Region.

ONOC Equity Commission Chair, Helen Brownlee said "This initiative is a significant step towards recognizing and celebrating those who actively champion equity in sports.”

The ACE Award, to be presented annually at the ONOC General Assembly, aims to spotlight those who have exhibited exemplary leadership, innovative projects, or contributed to the development of a sport or event that highlights the involvement of women.

The ACE Award Selection Criteria require nominees to have experience in technical official work, coaching, sport administration, and advance gender equality and women's rights. Significant contributions include women's involvement in sports, innovative projects, and exemplary leadership.

National Olympic Committees and member sports of the Organisation of Sports Federations of Oceania (OSFO) are invited to submit nominations for the ECO ACE Award, with nominations closing on Wednesday 31 January 2024.

The ACE Award is a testament to ONOC's commitment to fostering gender equality within the Oceania sporting landscape.

Nominations must be made using the ECO ACE Award Application Form, containing all relevant information about the nominee's background and dedication to women's sports. The final decision will be made by the Award Selection Panel, consisting of three ECO Executive Members.

Chair Brownlee encourages the sports community to actively participate in this initiative, emphasizing that by celebrating the ACE Award, the region acknowledges the impactful efforts in promoting women through sport.

Brownlee said “We believe that by acknowledging these efforts, we can inspire positive change and further advance gender equality within the Oceania sporting community."

The recipient for this prestigious award will be announced at the ONOC General Assembly in March this year in Nadi, Fiji.


About ONOC 
Established in 1981, the Oceania National Olympic Committees (ONOC) is one of five Continental Associations. It looks after the interests of 17 member nations in the Oceania Region, including Australia and New Zealand as well as seven associate members. 

ONOC has an office in Guam where Secretary General Mr. Ricardo Blas is based and the Secretariat in Suva, Fiji, where the Office of the President Dr Robin Mitchell is located.

All services and-programmes are based on the ONOC Strategic Plan for 2018-2021, and its 4 Core Functions of (1) Building and Strengthening NOCs Capacity (2) Cultivating Strategic Partnerships (3) Contributing towards Sporting Excellence and (4) Leading by Example.


For more information, please contact;

Shivneel Narayan
Chief Communications Officer (Acting)


Digital Channels
For up-to-the-minute information on ONOC and regular updates, please follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram LinkedIn and YouTube.