New executives for ONOC’s Athletes’ Commission elected today

June 22, 2023
Athlete Commission representatives and observers at the elections meeting today

The ONOC Athletes’ Commission (ONOC AC) conducted elections for their new executives today.

Convened virtually and facilitated through an electronic voting system (Lumi Global), a total of seven candidates, nominated by six national athletes’ commissions contested the four positions available. The four positions were allocated equally to two male and two female candidates.

The nominated candidates contesting the four positions were:

  1. Ajah Pritchard-Lolo - Vanuatu Athletes’ Commission
  2. Kaino Thomsen-Fuataga - Samoa Athletes’ Commission
  3. Kayla Whitelock - New Zealand Athletes’ Commission
  4. Ken Wallace - Australia Athletes’ Commission and IOC Athletes' Commission Liasion for Oceania
  5. Lua Rikis - Papua New Guinea Athletes’ Commission
  6. Matelita Buadromo - Fiji Athletes’ Commission
  7. Tutumanu Matautia - Samoa Athletes’ Commission

After two rounds of voting, observed by Presidents and Secretaries-General from a few National Olympic Committees in the region and ONOC staff, the following candidates were elected:

Australia’s Ken Wallace who was interim chairperson of the ONOC AC for the last 10 months said he was grateful to be officially elected to the commission. “I look forward to working with the new members in building on the work of the previous executive to take the athletes’ movement in our region forward,” Wallace said.

Fiji’s Matelita Buadromo acknowledged the five female candidates for stepping up, and the responsibility now placed on her and the in-coming executives, in representing and being a voice for athletes of Oceania.

ONOC Secretary General Rick Blas congratulated the elected members saying that today’s election was ten months in the making, part of which was to ensure that national Athletes’ Commissions were compliant with the election requirements. He thanked Ken Wallace and the interim ONOC AC leaders for their work in the last ten months as well as New Zealand’s Sarah Walker for facilitating the election process today.

The four executive members elected today will join Sarah Walker (Deputy Chair of the IOC Athletes’ Commission and IOC Member), Papua New Guinea’s Ryan Pini (Pacific Games Council’s Athlete Representative) and Australia’s Jessica Fox (IOC Athletes’ Commission Member). All three members automatically get a seat on the ONOC AC Executive because of their roles with the IOC and the Pacific Games Council.

The ONOC AC executives are scheduled to meet next week to finalise their programmes and work plan for the next six months.


For more information visit:

For the  ONOC Athletes’ Commission  
For the  ONOC Athletes’ Commission Microsite  
For the  IOC Athletes’ Commission  
For the  Athlete365 hub of resources for all athletes


About ONOC 
Established in 1981, the Oceania National Olympic Committees (ONOC) is one of five Continental Associations. It looks after the interests of 17 member nations in the Oceania Region, including Australia and New Zealand as well as seven associate members. 

ONOC has an office in Guam where Secretary General Mr. Ricardo Blas is based and the Secretariat in Suva, Fiji, where the Office of the President Dr Robin Mitchell is located.

All services and-programmes are based on the ONOC Strategic Plan for 2018-2021, and its 4 Core Functions of (1) Building and Strengthening NOCs Capacity (2) Cultivating Strategic Partnerships (3) Contributing towards Sporting Excellence and (4) Leading by Example.


For more information, please contact;

Inoke Bainimarama
Executive Director (Acting) and Chief Communications Officer


Digital Channels
For up-to-the-minute information on ONOC and regular updates, please follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram LinkedIn and YouTube.